Sunday, 19 October 2014 19:12

Annual Dinner and Awards

Written by 
Rate this item
(0 votes)

This year's annual dinner and awards presentation was held at the Palace Hotel on Saturday 18th October.

We were late organising the dinner this year which meant that a number of players were unable to attend, including MD John Collings, which meant that the master of ceremonies role was down to Secretary Simon Court.


Following a lovely meal, Simon read out an email which John had sent to all members of the band congratulating all the prize winners, but also all the members of the band for all their hard work they had put in during the year. Then, assisted by Arthur Christian, he announced the winners of the various awards which this year were decided on by John assisted by Ian Astill. We were pleased to have band patron Mr Noel Cringle presenting the awards.


Tommy Moore Award for Outstanding Service Margaret Collins
Ralph Teare Award for Achievement Sue Nichols
Tommy Watterson Award for Long Service Alan Cannell
Laa Columb Killey Award for Most Improved Player Andrew Epplestone
Len Arnold Award for Attendance Lawrence Quirk
Collins Cup for Support Eddie Quayle
Soloist of the Year Arthur Christian for his renditions of Carrickfergus


There is one award voted for by the members of the band and this is the Band Person of the Year, and this year it goes to Barbara Cole for all her hard work with our training band, Balley Cashtal Brass.


It was also good to see Band President Edwin Cubbon aged 92 at the dinner. Although he no longer plays he does still come down to rehearsals to keep an eye on the rest of us!


Thanks must also go to Arthur Christian for organising the dinner at short notice, to Margaret Bailey for organising the raffle and to Simon for organising the quiz.


Congratulations again to all prize winners.



Read 3110 times
More in this category: « Jason Evans Band AGM »
You are here: